Day 37

Image

January 30th, 2013- Today has been a whirlwind of tests and lots of unknowns. I woke up with the chest tightness again plus a soreness in my PICC line arm, but when the lasix failed to make me feel any better the questions started. I ended up getting a chest x-ray, EKG, echo of my heart, and an ultrasound of my PICC line. The good news is that my heart is working just fine but I have a few other issues going on. First off, the ultrasound of my PICC line showed the beginning of a clot. Thankfully it is a nonocclusive blood clot so it isn’t blocking or hurting anything yet. The bad news is they don’t want it to get worse so after my last chemotherapy early tomorrow morning they plan on scheduling the removal of the line. They are discussing waiting to put another back in, which would go in my other arm, as I am done with chemotherapy for awhile, but I am such a hard stick it may be necessary for nightly blood draws regardless. The chest tightness is actually mucositis which is an inflammation of my digestive tract and due to the inflammation of my esophagus there is quite of a bit of pain in my chest. I will tell you that it is not a good feeling and even with all of the test results I can’t help but think my heart is having issues. Things with my throat have gotten worse as the day has gone on and tonight it has been a bit difficult to even swallow. The only real options are pain medication and to do my best with everything so I hope this can pass quickly. The craziest part is I completely forgot I was due for another LP, spinal tap, this morning but that got postponed until tomorrow due to everything else. I am not looking forward to laying on my stomach/chest with this pain.

Bryce came by just in time to save me from a complete stress meltdown and was thankfully extremely cheerful today. He had tons of energy thanks to Grammy getting him down for an hour long nap this morning to fit our new attempted schedule. We spent the afternoon wearing one another out and I got to walk him to sleep before he left with Grammy. Every moment with him makes me feel so blessed even in this difficult time and I cannot stop thanking God for allowing him to come before all of this started.

Mommy cuddled up in the chair with her little man.

DSC_0987

Grammy holding an easily distracted Bryce.

DSC_0026

10 thoughts on “Day 37

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart felt story, it is an inspiration to have you share it. I have a niece that went through a similar situation and I am quite proud of you and your courage as you share your heart. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A whirlwind day. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ everything has to happen at the same time, right? Ugh. I hope these medication work to give you more comfort.

    I just noticed Bryce’s outfit matches the colors in your Day sign. Hee. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi, my name is Cheryl and I entered Shands yesterday to begin Chemo for my Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML). The hope of course is to get into remission and stay there until I can have a stem cell transplant. I started out being diagnosed with Myelofibrosis in late Sept and was a pretty sick gal until they were able to get me on a chemo pill (Revlimid) which worked real well for me until about a week or so ago. Things became urgent then to get the Chemo started. My first bag was last night. I am doing well today but I realize there is long hard journey ahead. I am much older than you (65) and have a diff diagnosis but Leukemia is Leukemia so I am sure I will possibly fight some of the same battles as you. I have a strong faith and lots of determination so I know that I know I can get through this. I really appreciate the way you have been so honest about everything. It is a big help to those of us who are beginning our battle behind you. You will be in my thoughts and prayers everyday as you continue your fight. I look forward to hearing very soon that you are fully in remission and on your way home to be with your husband and precious little boy. Hopefully one day we can meet. Until thing…continue to fight and keep the faith.

    • Cheryl, it is so nice that my experiences are helping you fight your battle as well. I am always happy to talk especially since your on the same floor as me. I also hope you go into remission as well and get your stem cell transplant! I will always be praying for you and you will be in my thoughts as you go through this difficult time. We are both fighters and we will both beat our leukemia battle no matter what. We are both very strong women and we can get through this. It is difficult at times but know that the bad days will pass and you will have good days!!

Leave a Reply

