Day 40

DSC_0069 (2)

February 2nd, 2013- My arms have been hurting terribly today and they keep checking new things to make sure everything is alright. They drew some blood cultures to see if I was developing a staph infection from my new PICC line and did an ultrasound of my left arm to make sure I wasn’t already developing a new clot. Thankfully the ultrasound was clear but it will be a few days before they know anything about the infection. I was started on more antibiotics anyway, but if there is an infection they will have to take out my new line as well which would really limit my other options for a more permanent line. The clot in my right arm is still there and I will be getting another ultrasound in a week with the hope that it will have cleared on its own by then.

My skin is getting incredibly dry and no one is certain if it is a side effect of the chemotherapy or from the swelling and contracting of my skin from the fluids. I have bloody cracks on my left ankle and a spiderweb of skin threatening the same up and down both legs and all over my back. They said regular moisturizing lotion is the only real thing I can do so David has been doing his best to put it on the problem areas several times a day. My GI issues have gotten worse today and I can’t seem to eat or sit comfortably anymore. I am able to control it with regular doses of maalox and the occasional dose of oxycodone.Ā I have always done my best to remain positive but I have become determined to voice positive assurances several times each day to help my body overcome these difficulties.

Bryce came to visit and Grampy asked if I was able to go outside for some fresh air. The nurses said I was able to go outside due to the fact that it was the weekend and there would be a limited amount of people around. Bryce and I sat by the lake across from the hospital and enjoyed the sun and outside air which was so amazing after such a long time being stuck inside. We tried pear baby food with Bryce today and after some funny faces he ate it all without complaint.

My mom and Bill stopped by to visit today which was such a nice change of pace. This is just a short visit but in just a few days my mom will be back to help David’s mom and dad with Bryce and help me whenever possible. I am so glad my mom is going to be around to help me get through the rest of this journey.

Here are a few pictures of Bryce eating his yummy new baby food.

photo (8) photo (9) photo (10)

9 thoughts on “Day 40

  1. Thanks for sharing your journey. I work with Sally and am a 2 time survivor (bone 1987 and breast 2006). I love your courage and positive outlook. šŸ™‚ Keep up the fight!!

  2. Hi Diana- I went to school with you and have been reading about your courageous fight! I recently worked for a skin care company and consulted with a lot of women going through chemo and experiencing very dry skin. I have a few bottles of our organic olive virgin oil that is a great moisture for dry, very sensitive skin. I know a lot of women on chemo who have used it. I would be happy to send them to you and explain how to use them if you would like.

  3. It all sounds so painful and scarey and yet you sound so strong and positive…It is comforting to know that you have so much loving support…hang in there…you are in our prayers!! Kim

  4. I found your blog through another user re-pressing your article, what struck me straight away was the amount of zest jumping out from your picture. You are a truly courageous women not just for fighting this battle but also for having the strength to share your experiences.
    Best wishes to you and your family, stay strong šŸ™‚

  5. …have you always been matching the colors of the signs to Bryce’s outfits? I noticed it a few days ago but now I’m seeing it more! I’m so observant, right? šŸ™‚

    I could read your delight on being outside. Such gorgeous weather, too. You’re done with this round of chemo now, right?

  6. ;you have a beautiful family,my prayers and positive energy are with you,you took me back to memories of starting new food with my babies, every second is so awesome

Leave a Reply

